The foundation of Capabuild is built upon a diverse team of experts in the field of tax development. The Board plays a crucial role in our direction towards a sustainable future. We are proud to have a Board that captures the ability to adopt sound, ethical and legal governance as well as financial management policies. The Board of Capabuild is pivotal in securing adequate resources to strengthen our mission.

Gitte Heij

Chair of the Executive Board of Capabuild

Gitte Heij (PhD Law, MA Tax Law, University of Groningen) started her career with ING Bank before moving into research and advisory work for governments and companies around the world. For over 20 years she worked on a wide range of tax and investment projects and public/fiscal policy initiatives in the Asian region. Most of her work has been with Ministries of Finance in the Asian region funded by multilateral and bilateral aid agencies. She is a passionate futurist and an experienced trainer/ teacher affiliated with Murdoch University and the Asian Law Centre at Melbourne University. She is an active member of the OECD Government Foresight Community Network and the International Public Sector Foresight Network. She has published extensively on tax & investment and the politics of tax law reform in the Asian region.

Jan van Trigt

Executive Board member Capabuild

Jan studied economics and tax at the Erasmus University Rotterdam before starting his career with the Dutch Revenue Service. In 1989 he joined the tax practice of Arthur Andersen which transferred into Deloitte in 2002. He worked for many clients active in international business and served in many significant leadership roles within Andersen and Deloitte in the Netherlands, in EMEA and at a global level. Jan has a broad range of interests and has proven track record in leading small and large groups of professionals with a variety of specialisms. Jan left Deloitte in 2018 and he is now active in (non tax) advisory work for a small and larger organisations, amongst others on management topics and energy transition. Jan has a passion for public policy and business. He is executive board member of Capabuild. He combines his 30 years experience in the world of tax, international business and management.

Attiya Waris

Supervisory Board

Professor Waris is Deputy Principal, College of Humanities and Social Sciences; Director of Research and Enterprise and Associate Professor of Fiscal Law at the Law School, University of Nairobi in Kenya and Chairperson, Committee on Fiscal Studies. She holds a PhD in Tax Law and Development from Lancaster University, UK and two Master of Laws one in Human rights and Democratisation in Africa from the University of Pretoria in South Africa and another in Business and Commercial Law from the University of London. I hold an Undergraduate Law degree from the University of Nairobi. She is both a DAAD scholar and a scholar of the European Union. Professor Waris is an Advocate of the High Court of Kenya and a member of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (UK) and a Certified Public Secretary (Kenya). She comes from a strong mixed practitioner and academic background having worked in several countries in Africa in various diverse institutions including law firms, Non-Governmental Organisations as well as the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda. She specialises in tax policy and legislation and its analysis in research as well as in its practical analysis and application within the context of negotiations with revenue authorities and before tribunals and the judiciary in Africa.

Theo Groeneveld

Supervisory Board

Mr Groeneveld studied notarial and tax law in Leiden and was a justice in the Court of Appeal in The Hague since 2010. Before that he was, among other things, a member of the Council for the Judiciary and advocate-general with the Supreme Court of the Netherlands (Tax Division). In 2011 he was appointed as justice in the Supreme Court of the Netherlands. The Supreme Court of the Netherlands, officially the High Council of the Netherlands, is the final court of appeal in civil, criminal and tax cases in the Netherlands. Since his retirement in 2018, he provides advisory services and mediation services.